SLSY December 8, 2019

SLSY is an unofficial Sonic Youth website
and community for fans worldwide, est. 1998

Latest News

Click here for news archive.

Sonic solo projects at Rotterdam film Festival
January 20, 2005

The Rotterdam international film festival will host a live concert of Text of light and a screening of Jim's film "Not Yet". The film is described as: "The only finished and screened film so far by musician Jim O'Rourke uses a scene from Brian De Palma's 'Blow Out' in loop. The camera revolves around a sound technician who enters his studio and discovers that all his magnet tapes are whiped. The physical effect of this disorientating scene is enhanced by double printing and an eerie, floating soundtrack".
The full program is available here:

Jim also contributed to "Lost in The Grooves: Scram's Capricious Guide to The Music You Missed".An anthology of bite-sized essays about obscure, overlooked and flat-out bizarre albums.

Sonic Youth
Sonic Youth, initially comprising of guitarist / vocalists Thurston Moore and Lee Ranaldo, guitarist / bassist / vocalist Kim Gordon and drummer Richard Edson, were formed in New York City in 1981. A product of the No-Wave music scene of the late 1970s, the group had their roots in abrasive, experimental music, with Moore and Ranaldo having previously worked with the experimental composer Glenn Branca. The band were joined in 1985 by drummer Steve Shelley, and have now recorded 14 albums together, as well as many side and solo projects. Their work has been consistently challenging and innovative, and they are widely regarded as one of the most intriguing and influential bands of their time.


Request RejectedThe requested URL was rejected. If you think this is an error, please contact the webmaster.

Your support ID is: 4184029299594393480


Fan sites
Sonic Tooth
Sonic Truth
S.S. Beat Control
Starfield Road

Sonic Life
Jim O'Rourke
Summer Of Youth
Sonic Youth Newsgroup
Stefano Giovannini

Official Store
Ecstatic Yod
Forced Exposure


Protest Records
Experimental Jet Set
BB Gun Magazine
Jim O'Rourke
Mike Watt


  Website by Jani Komulainen and Neven Mrgan.
Copyright © 1998-2019 SLSY. +
top of page top